Faculty & Staff

Mark Barsoum

Mark Barsoum
Assistant Professor of Biology
Director, Math & Science Center
Office: Dana 267
704-894-2796
mabarsoum@davidson.edu

Bio 111: Molecules, Genes, & Cells
Bio 112: Organisms, Evolution, & Ecosystems
Bio 210: Human Physiology

Karen Bernd

Karen Bernd
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: Watson 289
704-894-2889
kabernd@davidson.edu

Bio 111: Molecules, Genes, & Cells
Bio 208: Cell Biology
Bio 267: Case Studies in Environmental Health

Malcolm Campbell

Malcolm Campbell
Professor of Biology
Director, James G. Martin Genomics Program
Office: Dana 221-A
704-894-2692
macampbell@davidson.edu

Bio 113: Integrated Concepts in Biology I
Bio 309: Genomics
Bio 343: Lab Methods in Genomics

Verna Case

Verna Miller Case
Beverly F. Dolan Professor of Biology
Associate Dean for Teaching, Learning, & Research
Office: Center for Teaching and Learning
704-894-2327
vecase@davidson.edu

Bio 362: Issues in Reproductive Medicine
Bio 368: Study & Treatment of Human Disease: Zambia

Mike Dorcus

Michael Dorcas
Professor of Biology
Office: Watson 290
704-894-2727
midorcas@davidson.edu

Bio 112: Organisms, Evolution, & Ecosystems
Bio 212: Animal Physiology
Bio 352: Herpetological Research
Bio 361: Amphibian and Reptile Conservation

Karen Hales

Karen Hales
Professor of Biology
Office: Dana 201A
704-894-2324
kahales@davidson.edu

Bio 111: Molecules, Genes, & Cells
Bio 201: Genetics
Bio 352: Group Investigation: Genetics of Mitochondrial Shaping
Bio 363: Human Genetics
Bio 371/372: Independent Research

Leigh Anne Harden

Leigh Anne Harden
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: Dana 257
704-894-6096
leharden@davidson.edu

 Bio 112: Organisms, Evolution, & Ecosystems

 

Pamela Hay

Pamela Camp Hay
Associate Professor of Biology
Pre-Vet Adviser
Office: Dana 269
704-894-2443
pahay@davidson.edu

Bio 104: Nutrition
Bio 105/109: Biology of Plants
Bio 216: Botany
Bio 303: Biochemistry
Bio 450: Advanced Seminar in Biochemistry

Barbara Lom

Barbara Lom (Chair)
Professor of Biology
Office: Watson 162A
704-894-2338
balom@davidson.edu  

Bio 251: Light Microscopy
Bio 261: Neuroscience of Exercise
Bio 306: Developmental Biology
Bio 333: Cellular & Molecular Neuroscience

Linda McNally

Linda McNally
Lecturer in Biology
Office: Watson 288
704-894-2886
limcnally@davidson.edu

Bio 103: Microbes & Human Disease
Bio 106: Microbes & Our Health
Bio 108: Human Biology

Chris Paradis

Christopher Paradise
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: Watson 272
704-894-2890
chparadise@davidson.edu

Bio 114: Integrated Concepts in Biology II
Bio 321: Ecology
Bio 317: Entomology
Bio 367: Ecotoxicology

Patricia Peroni

Patricia Peroni
Professor of Biology
Office: Watson 274
704-894-2329
paperoni@davidson.edu

Bio 112: Organisms, Evolution, and Ecosystems
Bio 240: Statistics for Life Scientists
Bio 267: Dendrology
Bio 321: Ecology
Bio 366: Ecology of Disease

Jeremiah Putnam

Jeremiah Putnam
Paul B. Freeland Professor of Biology
Office: Watson 287
704-894-2484
jeputnam@davidson.edu

Bio 305: Microanatomy (Histology)
Bio 260: Perspective on Darwinism
Bio 311: Comparative Anatomy

Wendy Raymond

Wendy Raymond
Professor of Biology
Vice President of Academics Affairs and Dean of Faculty
Office: Chambers 1283
704-894-2204
weraymond@davidson.edu

Sophia Sarafova

Sophia Sarafova
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: Dana 263
704-894-2899
sosarafova@davidson.edu

Bio 111: Molecules, Genes, & Cells
Bio 201: Genetics
Bio 307: Immunology
Bio 364: Immune System Dysfunction
Bio 450: Biochemistry of Signal Transduction

Kevin Smith

Kevin Smith
Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: Dana 261
704-894-3038
kgsmith@davidson.edu

Bio 112: Organisms, Evolution, & Ecosystems
Bio 227: Conservation Biology & Biodiversity

Mark Stanback

Mark Stanback
Professor of Biology
Office: Watson 282
704-894-2325
mastanback@davidson.edu

Bio 112: Organisms, Evolution, & Ecosystems
Bio 222: Vertebrate Zoology
Bio 323: Animal Behavior
Bio 342: Evolutionary Biology

Heather Ward

Heather Ward
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: Watson 164
704-894-2603
heward@davidson.edu

Bio 108: Human Biology

Dave Wessner

David Wessner
Professor of Biology; Associate Director, Center for
Interdisciplinary Studies
Office: Watson 218
704-894-2846
dawessner@davidson.edu

Bio 111: Molecules, Genes, & Cells
Bio 201: Genetics
Bio 202: Microbiology
Bio 263: Representations of HIV/AIDS
Bio 360: Biology of HIV/AIDS

Emeriti Faculty

Don Kimmel, Ph.D.
David Grant, Ph.D.
John Williamson, Ph.D.

Staff

Lauren Barker Lauren Barker
Biology Department Assistant
Office: Watson 162
704-894-2184
labarker@davidson.edu
Paul Brantly Paul Brantley
Science Instructional Technologist
Office: Watson 324
704-894-2897
pabrantley@davidson.edu
Bill Hatfield Bill Hatfield
Computer Technical Support
Office: Dana 221
704-894-2692
bihatfield@davidson.edu
Bryan Hauser Bryan Hauser, Ph.D.
Teaching Assistant, upper level labs
Office: Dana 239
704-894-2731
brhauser@davidson.edu  
Max Kern Max Kern '13
Research Technician, Herpetology Lab
makern@davidson.edu
Peggy Maiorano Peggy Maiorano
Teaching Assistant, introductory labs
Office: Watson 275
704-894-2509
pemaiorano@davidson.edu
Lindsay Regruto Lindsay Regruto
Lab Technician (Hales Lab)
Office:  Dana 201
704-894-2759
liregruto@davidson.edu
Amy Becton Amy Sullivan
Teaching Assistant, Animal Care Coordinator
704-894-2868
amsullivan@davidson.edu 
Chris van Rooyen Chris van Rooyen
Scientific Instrumentation Specialist
Office: Watson B127
704-894-2490
chvanrooyen@davidson.edu
James Winkle James Winkle
Research Technician (Hales Lab)
704-894-2759
jawinkle@davidson.edu
Johanna Ziegler Johanna Ziegler
Animal Care Technician
704-894-2617
jozeigler@davidson.edu