Faculty & Staff

Mark Barsoum

Mark Barsoum
Assistant Professor of Biology
Math & Science Center Director
Dana 267
704-894-2796
mabarsoum@davidson.edu

Bio 111: Molecules, Genes, & Cells
Bio 112: Organisms, Evolution, & Ecosystems
Bio 310: Human Physiology

Karen Bernd

Karen Bernd
Associate Professor of Biology
Watson 289
704-894-2889
kabernd@davidson.edu

Bio 111: Molecules, Genes, & Cells
Bio 208: Cell Biology
Bio 238: Cell Biology & Signaling
Bio 267: Cases in Environmental Health

Malcolm Campbell

Malcolm Campbell
Professor of Biology
Genomics Program
Dana 221A
704-894-2692
macampbell@davidson.edu

Bio 113: Integrated Concepts–Biology I
Bio 309: Genomics
Bio 343: Lab Methods in Genomics

Verna Case

Verna Miller Case
Dolan Professor of Biology
Associate Dean for Teaching, Learning, & Research
Center for Teaching & Learning
704-894-2327
vecase@davidson.edu

Bio 362: Issues in Reproductive Medicine
Bio 368: Health Care Issues in Zambia

Mike Dorcus

Michael Dorcas
Professor of Biology
Watson 290
704-894-2727
midorcas@davidson.edu

Bio 112: Organisms, Evolution, & Ecosystems
Bio 212: Animal Physiology
Bio 352: Herpetological Research
Bio 361: Amphibian & Reptile Conservation

Rachid El Bejjani

Rachid El Bejjani
Assistant Professor of Biology
Watson 275
raelbejjani@davidson.edu

Bio 201: Genetics
Bio 333: Cellular & Molecular Neuroscience

Karen Hales

Karen Hales
Professor of Biology
Dana 201A
704-894-2324
kahales@davidson.edu

Bio 111: Molecules, Genes, & Cells
Bio 201: Genetics
Bio 352: Genetics of Mitochondrial Shaping
Bio 363: Human Genetics

Pamela Hay

Pamela Camp Hay
Associate Professor of Biology
Pre-Vet Adviser
Dana 269
704-894-2443
pahay@davidson.edu

Bio 104: Nutrition
Bio 105/109: Biology of Plants
Bio 216: Botany
Bio 303: Biochemistry
Bio 390: Topics in Nutrition

Barbara Lom

Barbara Lom (Chair)
Professor of Biology
Watson 162A
704-894-2338
balom@davidson.edu  

Bio 251: Light Microscopy
Bio 261: Neuroscience of Exercise
Bio 306: Developmental Biology
Bio 336: Animal Development

Linda McNally

Linda McNally
Lecturer in Biology
Watson 288
704-894-2886
limcnally@davidson.edu

Bio 103: Microbes & Human Disease
Bio 106: Microbes & Our Health
Bio 108: Human Biology

Chris Paradis

Christopher Paradise
Professor of Biology
Watson 272
704-894-2890
chparadise@davidson.edu

Bio 114: Integrated Concepts in Biology II
Bio 256: Applied Insect Ecology
Bio 317: Entomology
Bio 321: Ecology
Bio 366: Renewable Natural Resources: Science and Policy
Bio 367: Ecotoxicology

Patricia Peroni

Patricia Peroni
Professor of Biology
Watson 274
704-894-2329
paperoni@davidson.edu

Bio 112: Organisms, Evolution, & Ecosystems
Bio 240: Statistics for Life Scientists
Bio 267: Dendrology
Bio 321: Ecology
Bio 366: Ecology of Disease

Jeremiah Putnam

Jeremiah Putnam
Freeland Professor of Biology
Watson 287
704-894-2484
jeputnam@davidson.edu

Bio 260: Perspective on Darwinism
Bio 311: Comparative Anatomy
Bio 305: Microanatomy (Histology)

Wendy Raymond

Wendy Raymond
Professor of Biology
Vice President of Academics Affairs
Dean of Faculty
Chambers 1283
704-894-2204
weraymond@davidson.edu

 

Bio 391: RNA Worlds

Sophia Sarafova

Sophia Sarafova
Associate Professor of Biology
Dana 263
704-894-2899
sosarafova@davidson.edu

Bio 111: Molecules, Genes, & Cells
Bio 201: Genetics
Bio 307: Immunology
Bio 337: Principles of Immunology
Bio 364: Immune System Dysfunction
Bio 450: Biochemistry of Signal Transduction

Kevin Smith

Kevin Smith
Assistant Professor of Biology
Dana 261
704-894-3038
kgsmith@davidson.edu

Bio 114: Integrated Concepts in Biology II
Bio 227: Conservation Biology & Biodiversity
Bio 356: Extinction Analysis

Mark Stanback

Mark Stanback
Professor of Biology
Watson 282
704-894-2325
mastanback@davidson.edu

Bio 112: Organisms, Evolution, & Ecosystems
Bio 222: Vertebrate Zoology
Bio 223: Animal Behavior
Bio 342: Evolution

Dave Wessner

David Wessner
Professor of Biology
Watson 218
704-894-2846
dawessner@davidson.edu

Bio 111: Molecules, Genes, & Cells
Bio 201: Genetics
Bio 202: Microbiology
Bio 263: Representations of HIV/AIDS
Bio 360: Biology of HIV/AIDS

Emeriti Faculty

Don Kimmel, Ph.D.
David Grant, Ph.D.
John Williamson, Ph.D.

Staff

Paul Brantly Paul Brantley
Science Instructional Technologist
Watson 324
704-894-2897
pabrantley@davidson.edu
Bill Hatfield Bill Hatfield
Computer Technical Support
Dana 221
704-894-2692
bihatfield@davidson.edu
Bryan Hauser Bryan Hauser, Ph.D.
Teaching Assistant (upper level labs)
Dana 239
704-894-2731
brhauser@davidson.edu  
Jenny Ingraham Jenny Ingraham
Biology Department Assistant
Watson 162
704-894-2184
jeingraham@davidson.edu
Peggy Maiorano

Peggy Maiorano
Teaching Assistant (introductory labs)
Watson 164
704-894-2509
pemaiorano@davidson.edu

Shannon Pittman Shannon Pittman, Ph.D. 
NSF Postdoctoral Fellow (Dorcas Lab)
Dana 229
704-894-8468
shpittman@davidson.edu
Lindsay Regruto Lindsay Regruto
Lab Technician (Hales Lab)
Dana 201
704-894-2759
liregruto@davidson.edu
Jessica Spillman Jessica Spillman
Lab Manager (non-major & field labs)
Dana 257
704-894-3096
jespillman@davidson.edu
Amy Becton Amy Sullivan
Teaching Assistant, Animal Care Coordinator
704-894-2868
amsullivan@davidson.edu 
Chris van Rooyen Chris van Rooyen
Scientific Instrumentation Specialist
Watson B127
704-894-2490
chvanrooyen@davidson.edu
Lauren Woods

Lauren Woods, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow (Smith Lab)
Dana 251

704-894-3038
lawoods@davidson.edu

Johanna Ziegler

Johanna Ziegler
Animal Care Technician
704-894-2617
jozeigler@davidson.edu