Bernard Lecture

The annual Bernard Lectureship features a prominent authority on mathematics or computer science who engages members of the college community, including students, faculty, alumni, and the general public, in discussions and lectures.

2013 Bernard Lecture

Professor Emeritus Larry Baggett, University of Colorado Boulder
Sunday, Sept. 29, 2013, at 8 p.m., in 900 Room, Alvarez College Union.

Professor Baggett, Davidson College class of 1960, was the first blind student admitted to Davidson College, and the first blind doctoral student in mathematics at the University of Washington. His new memoir In the Dark on the Sunny Side: A Memoir of an Out-of-Sight Mathematician was published in 2012 by the MAA.

Previous Bernard Lectures

2012 - Professor Paul Edelman

Vanderbilt University ("Mathematics and the Law: The Apportionment of the House of Representatives")

2011 - Professor Sue Whitesides

University of Victoria ("At the crossroads of geometry, discrete mathematics, and algorithm design")

2010 - Professor Manjul Bhargava

Princeton University ("Linguistics, Poetry, and Mathematics")

2009 - Professor Joseph Gallian

University of Minnesota Duluth ("Using Mathematics to Create Symmetry Patterns")

2008 - Professor Keith Devlin

Stanford University ("When Mathematics Changed the World")

2007 - Professor Francis Edward Su

Harvey Mudd College ("Preference Sets, Graphs, and Voting in Agreeable Societies")

2006 - Professor Jeffrey Lagarias

University of Michigan ("Mathematical Crystals and Quasicrystals")

2005 - Professor Ronald Graham

University of California, San Diego ("Searching for the Shortest Network")

2004 - Professor Georgia Benkart

University of Wisconsin ("Ladies of the Ring: A Tale of Two Women and Their Mathematics")

2003 - Professor Edward Scheinerman

Johns Hopkins University ("Mathematics Through Games")

2002 - Professor Underwood Dudley

DePauw University ("Why Teach Mathematics?")

2001 - Professor Emeritus Carl Pomerance

University of Georgia & Bell Laboratories ("Babe Ruth, Hank Aaron, Paul Erdos, and Me")

2000 - Professor Lenore Blum

Carnegie Mellon University ("Complexity and Real Computation--Where Turing Meets Newton")

1999 - Dr. William R. Pulleyblank

Director of Mathematical Sciences in IBM's Research Division and Director of the IBM Deep Computing Institute ("Duality and Mathematical Optimization")

1998 - Professor Maynard Thompson

Indiana University ("Stratified Population Models and Applications in Ecology")

1997 - Professor David Bressoud

Macalester College ("Alternating Sign Matrix Conjecture")

1996 - Professor Robert Bryant

Duke University ("The Notions of Area and Volume and Geometry: From the Greeks to the Moderns")

1995 - Professor William Dunham

Muhlenberg College ("A Tribute to Euler"), author of Journey Through Genius, The Mathematical Universe, and Euler: Master of Us All

1994 - Professor Robert Devaney

Boston University ("The Fractal Geometry of the Mandelbrot Set")

1993 - Professor Brian White

Stanford University ("On Beyond Infinity")

1992 - Professor Victor Klee

The University of Washington, Seattle ("Some Unsolved Problems in Intuitive Geometry")