2014 Alumni Award Winners

Each year the Board of Directors of the Alumni Association recognizes alumni for their achievements, community service, and other contributions to society, and presents them with awards during Reunion Weekend. Previous winners are ineligible, as are recipients of honorary degrees from the college, current association board members and trustees, and current members of the college faculty and staff. The board tries to make awards, whenever possible, to individuals in classes celebrating reunions.

Nominations may be submitted at any point, but should be received at least one year in advance of a reunion so that the board may collect all nominees, deliberate, and vote on recipients. To nominate someone for an award at your next Reunion or to see a list of past award winners, visit our Awards & Honors pages.

See below for a list of the 2014 award winners with links to the citations read during their class dinner. (All citations will download as MS Word documents)

John W. Kuykendall Award

Named for Davidson's 15th president (1984-97), this award recognizes alumni who have provided extraordinary service to their community, demonstrating leadership through servanthood.

John Gerdy '79
Andrew Lovedale '09

Distinguished Alumni Award

Recipients of this award have provided leadership or attained recognition on a national or regional level within their profession or business.

Seddon "Rusty" Goode '54
Ben Barker '54
Richard Brubaker '59
James Moore '64
Craig Yoder '74
Sheri Reynolds '89

Alumni Service Award

This award recognizes alumni who have rendered and performed a high degree of service to the college.

Peter Andrews '59
Jim Killebrew ‘64
Sam Tallman ‘ 69
Vicki Switzer '74
Maria Patterson '79
Melissa Dilettuso Stewart '89
Ward and Sally Gantt Davis '94
Caroline Hubbell Yingling '99

Young Alumni Service Award

This award recognizes young alumni who have rendered and performed a high degree of service to the college.

Patrick "P.J." Martin '04
Cary Wright '09