Economics Announces Spring 2013 Awards Recipients

by Davidson College

A. K. Phifer Award Recipients

The Economics Department is pleased to present the A.K. Phifer Award to Genevieve Nielsen and Noah Quinby Bricker.

Genevieve NielsenGenevieve Nielsen
This year's co-recipient of the A.K. Phifer Award has excelled in all of the coursework she has taken at Davidson.

Quiet, even shy, but brilliant and insightful, she is a budding entrepreneur, as evidenced in her Davidson initiative in social networking at Davidson.

Noah BrickerNoah Bricker
This year's co-recipient of the A.K. Phifer Award has excelled in every economics course he has taken at Davidson, and he has challenged himself by repeatedly registering for the most challenging courses in the major.

Not only exceptionally bright, he is genuinely inquisitive and interested in economics.

Patterson Award Recipient

Congratulations to Thom H. Dimmock '13, recipient of the 2013 Patterson Award.  The Ernest Finney Patterson Award recognizes and honors the life of Ernest Finney Patterson, beloved professor of economics at Davidson College (1957-1979) and social activist.

The Economics Department grants up to $1,200 per year to subsidize formal study, research, field work, or community service by currently enrolled students at Davidson College that promotes improving society and bettering the human condition consistent with the personal ideals of Professor Patterson.