Accessibility Navigation:

Fellowships Committee

The Graduate Fellowships Committee is a standing appointive and elective committee of the college. The committee seeks to identify students early in their time at Davidson who are likely candidates for graduate fellowships and scholarships and holds occasional information sessions for these students.

Members of the Graduate Fellowships Committee:

  • Advise you on your fellowship and scholarship applications and help you plan your studies after Davidson
  • Administer nominations for some graduate fellowships and scholarship competitions
  • Hold mock interviews
  • Read and respond to draft application essays
  • Lend a hand during the challenging application process for Rhodes Scholarships, Marshall Scholarships, National Science Foundation Grants, Fulbright Grants, Luce Scholarships, Goldwater Scholarships, Mitchell Fellowships, and the Davidson College Smith Scholarship, among others

Faculty Members

  • Peter Ahrensdorf, Political Science
  • Mark Barsoum, Biology

  • Verna Case, Associate Dean for Teaching, Learning, & Research/Biology (ex officio)
  • Suzanne Churchill, English
  • Brenda Flanagan, English 

  • Wendy Raymond, VP Academic Affairs (ex officio)
  • Samuel Sanchez-Sanchez, Hispanic Studies
  • Tom Shandley, VP Student Life, Dean of Students (Watson liaison)
  • Catherine Slawy-Sutton, French & Francophone Studies

  • Shaw Smith, Art
  • Greg Snyder, Religion
  • Erland Stevens, Chemistry, chair


  • Fellowships and Scholarships Director Ted Ogaldez
  • Kathryn Perez, Program Assistant

For more information contact Kathryn Perez, 704-894-2385.